2016/17 Curriculum Week

It’s curriculum week, here at Two Cowgirls Homeschool.  It’s one of my favorite things to plan during the summer 🙂  I put a lot of thought and planning into the curriculum I purchase or design (as I’m sure all homeschool parents do!).  I’ve made a lot of changes over the past 5 years, made a lot of discoveries on my own, and have been introduced to a few items of curricula that I couldn’t live without.

Here’s what I’ve got planned for 2016/17:

Millie – 7th Grade:

0821162308

 

Writing: This year we’re trying Writing With Skill, because it came highly recommended from a friend.  It appears that it’ll allow Millie to be very independent in her work.  It seems to explain everything step-by-step, and will *hopefully* lead Millie to learn how to write essays, analyze poetry, etc.  She loves creative writing on her own, my hope is that this’ll help her  branch out a bit.

Math: This is our trickiest subject.  Millie was amazing at math early on, but then grew to dislike it.  We switched to Life of Fred a couple years ago, and she seems to like it, however I don’t necessarily like how she’s progressing.  This year we’re going to mix things up a bit.  She’ll do her lesson in Life of Fred, and then do a couple problems that correspond with what she is learning about, on IXL.  After each “bridge,” we will take a break to apply what she’s learned through math games and projects.  The two most amazing resources I’ve found for advanced math games/projects, are Math Geek Mama and 21st Century Math Projects.  I hope this approach works.

Spelling:  We’ll be using Rod and Staff spelling this year.  It looks like a great vocabulary builder, and will encourage her do write out the words a few times each in cursive.  Woo hoo!  I’m also going to keep a pile of note cards so I can make flashcards with the words that she misspells when she’s writing.

Latin:  She’ll be using Song School Latin.  It’s an introductory year for her, so I think the songs will really help her Latin stick.  This is something she’ll do completely independently.

Literature: Among the books she’ll read this year, are The Talking Earth, Mother Daughter Book Club, Bambi A Life in the Woods, The Indian in the Cupboard, The Porcupine Year, Wish You Were Eyre, Wild Blue: Story of a Mustang Appaloosa, The Teashop Girls, Julie of the Wolves, The Absolutely True Story of a Part Time Indian, The Green Ember, etc.

Co-op: Millie will once again be going to her co-op.  She loved it, and if you recall, her favorite part of last year was attending co-op.  She’ll be taking zoology and art this year.

Elise – 3rd Grade:

0821162307a

Language Arts: She will use Queens Language Lessons again this year.  Queens has been one of the best discoveries I’ve made since I started.  The lessons are short and sweet, and she really retains the information she learns.

Math:  Saxon 3!  Elise loves math, and Saxon seems to be how she likes learning.  Why mess with a good thing?

Cursive: She’ll use the Queens Primer as an introduction to cursive.  Millie used it when she was in 3rd grade, and it seemed to be a great fit.

Spelling: Elise will use Rod and Staff, as well.  I fell in love with it at the last homeschool convention I was at.

Literature:  Among the books she’ll read are Charlotte’s Web, Winnie the Pooh, Mrs. Piggle Wiggle, Meet Felicity, The Littles, Mr. Poppers Penguins, A Bear Called Paddington, The Bears of Hemlock Mountain, James and the Giant Peach, etc.

Together:

0821162307

Nature Study: I have always intended to do nature study, every. single. year.  It never happens.  This year, I’ve mapped our a plan for nature study, so we’ll actually go out and explore this wonderful world of ours, every week.  I’ll be using The Laws Guide to Nature Drawing and Journaling, Schoolyard Ecology Explorations, and the Nature Seeker Workbook.

History:  This is my favorite subject.  It’s my true passion.  We’re doing American History 1 this year, using Guest Hollow as our guide.  Our lessons will heavy on historical fiction, short educational videos, and hands on projects.  This is our second time cycling through American History 1.  I can’t wait!!!

Read Alouds: Among the books I’ll be reading aloud this year, are Daddy Long Legs, Sacajawea: American Path Finder, Redcoats and Petticoats, Children of the Covered Wagon, The Children of Green Knowe, Strawberry Hill, The Phantom Tollbooth, Frindle, Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH, etc.

Separate:

SciGirls – Millie will be doing SciGirls for the 3rd year.  It’s so fantastic!  Millie is exposed to mentors that teach wonderful things that I would have never exposed her to at home.  She will also collaborate with other girls on projects that really make her think.  It’s a great fit for her.

Jr. First Lego League – Elise will be doing Jr. First Lego League for the second year.  She loved it so much last year, made great friends, and learned a lot.

 

Leave a Reply

