Stone Soup, Face Paint, and Sick Days

Have I mentioned how much I love fall??

October 1st began my favorite quarter of the year.  Everything is wondrous at this time of year.  Mother Nature is busy creating the most beautiful colors, then we enter November which is filled with food and family, and finally December brings Christmas planning, activities, and well… Christmas.

This is the time of year in which I relish every single day, every single moment spent outside before the cold comes, and every single fall/winter activity that comes my way.

This homeschool week really warmed my heart and filled my soul (and stomach).

On Tuesday our little homeschool art group met up for a Stone Soup party!  It was so much fun.  Everyone brought a different vegetable, and after reading the book Stone Soup, we dropped in the veggies and stone, and let the soup simmer in a “cauldron” as my kids called it, over the fire while the kids played.  One of our homeschool mamas is an amazing artist, and brought her face paint supplies along, and painted all the kids faces. She’s so talented!!  It was such a wonderful day filled with friends, a bonfire, and food.

I came down with a cold later in the week.  Waa!  It was a great lesson in independence for my kids.  I was able to nurture my poor head cold, while Elise read The Year of Miss Agnes (see the fluffy reading station she made?) and voluntarily wrote a report about termites (!!).  Millie did all her school work on her own this week (with a little help from me in math).  I feel like it was a glimpse into what life might be like in the future.  He he.

Are you interested in seeing what other homeschoolers were up to this week?  Click here.

One thought on “Stone Soup, Face Paint, and Sick Days

Leave a Reply

