TJEd Ingredient #43: The Degree Program

The Challenge: To do whatever it takes to get the education you need and see what miracles you can witness in your life (Phases of Learning, 167).

The book Phases of Learning by Oliver and Rachel DeMillie details what they believe to be…you guessed it…the phases of learning.  Part II of the book details the Core and Love of Learning  phases in 55 ingredients.  While I don’t follow all 55 (I’m not a purist), I do  my best to follow as many as I can, which ends up being thirty-some.

The 43rd TJEd ingredient is really dear to me right now.  I recently made the decision to go back to school to pursue a degree in history.  I knew I loved history, but it wasn’t until I started homeschooling that I realized that teaching history to my kids wasn’t enough.  I longed to know it all 🙂

img_20170111_174928I started back at school a year and a half ago.  Since I am homeschooling, working part time, and running a few homeschool groups, I don’t have time to go to school full time.  Instead, I’m taking two classes per semester, and will take about six years to finish.  I plan to use that time to run a few homeschool history classes, volunteer for the historical society, do an internship, and travel to England to study for a book that I hope to write one day.

img_20170105_175141The classes I’ve taken have been amazing, and have changed my perspective on a few topics.  I love meeting people from cultures different from my own.  The whole experience has been life changing, and I have only just begun.

 

One of the best parts, is I’m showing my girls the importance of blocking out time to study, doing my best, striving to earn good grades, and proving that it’s never too late for a regular ol’ stay-at-homeschool mom to pursue her dreams.

Are you interested in seeing the other phases we follow?  Here are the few I’ve written about:

TJed Ingredient #4: Kidschool

TJed Ingredient #36: Grandparent Mentoring

TJEd Ingredient #10: The Annual Break

TJEd Ingredient #9: The Annual Project

TJEd Ingredient #2 – Weeks

TJEd Ingredient #51: Fall is for Beginnings

TJEd Ingredient #17: The Field Trip

 

Leave a Reply

