A Fort Worth Convention & Recovery Week

IMG_20170223_152218Last month (it’s been a while since I’ve posted!!) the family packed up the car,  left Minnesota, and drove across the country to Fort Worth Texas, for the Great Homeschool Convention.  I love attending homeschool conventions, and decided to take a break from our local one (too much redundancy), to hit up the convention with Sarah MacKenzie speaking 🙂  It was a major “fan girl” moment.  He he.

IMG_20170225_154511The convention was wonderful.  I had to the opportunity to listen to several great speakers, and do a LOT of window shopping.  OK, I didn’t just window shop.  I bought a few things, too.  🙂  My favorite purchases were:

A 19th Century History lapbook from Homeschool in the Woods (I can’t believe I didn’t know about HitW!! I can’t wait to start it with the girls soon)

Sewing kits from Homegrown Homesewn (seriously, the cutest kits ever!)

The Ember Falls (Millie got to attend two writers workshops hosted by S.D. Smith, and have him autograph about a zillion things; a book, several posters, a necklace, etc.  She was in heaven!)

And last, but certainly not least…

American History Go Fish game by The Classical Historian (I want to buy everything they offer.  I probably will, eventually!)

While in Fort Worth, we also had time to do a little touristy stuff.  We visited Cowtown, ate a LOT of really great food, posed for pictures by the pool (it was unheated and SO cold.  We definitely utilized the hot tub though), and met up with my BFF from 3rd and 4th grade.  Fort Worth is so cool, I wish we could have had another week to take in all the museums and historic sites.  We’ll definitely make a trip back to Texas in the future.

Taking that week off from school was just what the doctor ordered.  We’re back at it now, and are energized and ready to finish the school year.  Only eleven and a half weeks to go (not that I’m counting.  He he!!)

Here’s what we’ve been up to since we got home:

Leave a Reply

